Kudo's to Collison for table on subsidies

Have a development question you want answered? Ask it here and you'll get your answer
knucklehead
Alameda Tower
Alameda Tower

Kudo's to Collison for table on subsidies

Post by knucklehead »

The print version of today's Star article on Legoland includes a good table that shows the total cost and the public subsidy for seven recent projects. (Bass Pro Independence, Power & Light, Blue Ridge Mall Walmart, Legoland, Kansas Speedway, Schitzegal (sp?) waterpark and Legands.

As a CPA I love to see tables of this type. Tables are a very good way to pack a lot of information into a small space. It is interesting to compare the level of public subsidy on the various projects. The Legoland proposal is totally out of wack. Kansas Speedway was a good deal, but legands is very heavily subsidized for a greenfield project. The subsidizes for the water park are obscene. Same for the blue ridge mall wally world (although a much smaller scale).

the Bass pro subsidy also is high, but may be partially explained by the extreme topograhy of the site.

The next table I would like to see Collison do is a table on the 2007 budget for Union Station. I would like to see about a 10 or 12 line table showing Union Station's budgeted revenues and expenses by major category. That would cut thorugh a lot of the reporter's spin you get in most articles and really help the public understand the financial needs and potential of Union Station.

I don't need attitude from my newspaper, I need basic information.
Last edited by knucklehead on Thu Aug 17, 2006 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BVC
Valencia Place
Valencia Place

Re: Kudo's to Collison for table on subsidies

Post by BVC »

knucklehead wrote:
I don't need attitude from my newspaper
Or NY Times style of crafting the news or creating it by having people play dead in some shots and performing clean-up duties in others.  Just the facts, man.
aknowledgeableperson
City Center Square
City Center Square