DT Lofts/Condos

New to downtown life? Have questions? Urban living expert, come share your thoughts.
skim82
Alameda Tower
Alameda Tower

DT Lofts/Condos

Post by skim82 »

Ok,
I realize that there have been many threads regarding good lofts/condos in DT KC. 
But....
I have just recently kicked around the idea of moving DT.....
So...

I'm a young professional with a budget.....  I plan to spend around $150,000 to $195,000 on a loft or condo in DT KC.

1)  Is that even possible, if so, where are the best deals.
2)  I heard there are mad assoc. fees every month. (in the hundreds)  are there places where assoc. fees are lower?
3)  Any recommendations in and around city market/central business district/ crossroads. 
4)  I def. need a washer and dryer in my pad....  I heard a lot of condos in the Metropolitian don't have washer/dryer hookups... is that true??

Thx guys/girls.
KCPowercat
Ambassador

Re: DT Lofts/Condos

Post by KCPowercat »

First off, do you care which part of DTKC you live?  Rivermarket, CBD, crossroads, crown center, union hill?  You need to decide for yourself where you want to live first....what are you looking for?

Association fees will almost always be in the hundreds....the lowest I know of are .20/sqft.

It is harder and harder to find a condo under 200k but it is still very possible as long as you are looking for under 1000 sqft.

w/d hookups are pretty standard but not automatic.
http://downtownkcmo.blogspot.com

Tweeting live from Big 12 tournament @downtownkc
staubio
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by staubio »

Not a problem if, like KCP said, you don't need insane amounts of space.

There might still be something for you at Riverbend.  As is units are a bargain and they have washer/dryer already in the unit.  If that doesn't work for you, check out the slew of units that have come up recently (Coffee Lofts, 700 Broadway), which are rental conversions going for cheap.
skim82
Alameda Tower
Alameda Tower

Post by skim82 »