Why/why not buy a house in Wyandotte county?

New to downtown life? Have questions? Urban living expert, come share your thoughts.
sandwich
Parking Garage
Parking Garage

Why/why not buy a house in Wyandotte county?

Post by sandwich »

I'm new to the market, and need your help.

PROS: A lot more house for the money.  Easy highway access.  bigger lots.

Cons: I've heard that taxes are a killer.  Crime? Especially near downtown KCK/Quindero.  The stigma of "the Dotte"

I've found a few houses I'd like to see near the Legends, East of 435.
What should I know about the following zip codes? 66106 66102  What about Edwardsville?

Please help me, because I don't know anyone in the KC area who knows this stuff!
Call me sandwich.
dangerboy
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Why/why not buy a house in Wyandotte county?

Post by dangerboy »

Urban KCK has some great values, especially the Rosedale and Hanover Heights neighborhoods in southeast KCK (between Rainbow and State Line Road).  These are basically Westport or West Plaza but much cheaper.  Another great neighborhood is Westheight.  Very historic and looks a lot like Brookside.
tat2kc
Bryant Building
Bryant Building

Post by tat2kc »

we looked in kck for a home, but the taxes made it too expensive for us. Not worth it, but yea, some awesome homes.
Are you sure we're talking about the same God here, because yours sounds kind of like a dick.
Stockton
Colonnade
Colonnade

Post by Stockton »

sandwich wrote: I'm new to the market, and need your help.

Cons: I've heard that taxes are a killer.  Crime? Especially near downtown KCK/Quindero.  The stigma of "the Dotte"

What should I know about the following zip codes? 66106 66102  What about Edwardsville?

Please help me, because I don't know anyone in the KC area who knows this stuff!