Is Westport really an entertainment district?

Discuss items in the urban core outside of Downtown as described above. Everything in the core including the east side (18th & Vine area), Northeast, Plaza, Westport, Brookside, Valentine, Waldo, 39th street, & the entire midtown area.
trailerkid
City Center Square
City Center Square

Post by trailerkid »

I'm not an expert, but I'm sick of seeing Westport described as an entertainment district. Many city guides are now describing it as such. It has its share of live music venues and clubs, but that is a sign of an artsy and diverse neighborhood. When I think of an entertainment district I think of megaplex cinemas, Hard Rock Cafes, and tacky clubs filled with guys with tight shirts. If people consider Westport an entertainment district then so is downtown Lawrence (bars, live music, clubs)...it's a neighborhood center overrun by suburbanites.
Good2Great
New York Life
New York Life

Post by Good2Great »

You're right. It's baby sitting district cleverly disguised as a BAR district.

Seriously though, it's only attraction is liquor and loud music. Sure the Tivoli is there, but its number have to be marginal.
KCSKYSCRAPERS changed my life. I was on the edge until I visited this site. Now I find myself longing to dive off a 60 story building onto a frozen fountain paying tribute to the St. Louis Arch.
QueSi2Opie
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Location: Hangin' with the cons, crazies, and crackheads on 11th & Grand.

Post by QueSi2Opie »

So it's safe to say that Kansas City doesn't have an entertainment district? :roll:
The Pendergast Poltergeist Project!

I finally divorced beer and proposed to whiskey, but I occassionally cheat with fine wine.
FangKC
City Hall
City Hall

Westport

Post by FangKC »