Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

KC topics that don't fit anywhere else.

Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Currently have Google Fiber - 'free' 5M service
12
14%
Currently have Google Fiber - 100M or 1 Gigabit service only
16
19%
Currently have Google Fiber - TV + 1 Gigabit service
36
43%
Am in a deployed Google Fiber area but sticking with current or moving to other ISP
1
1%
Am in a planned area, intend to get Google Fiber
9
11%
Am in a planned area, sticking with current ISP
1
1%
None of the above/something else
9
11%
 
Total votes: 84

User avatar
normalthings
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3588
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:52 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Post by normalthings »

Roanoker wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 5:37 pm
I spent more time with my problem and realized that my question was really what ISP should I change to. Apple TV and Roku expects you to already have an Internet service. (They apparently don't work with Google Fiber.) I came to the conclusion that I would stay with Spectrum. When I called to see if 1. I had to pay for the equipment they sent me (answer: no), and 2. Could I use my existing modem and router (answer: yes), I learned that my REAL ISP was Earthlink! I thought they had provided only my email account. Now that I am staying with Spectrum, I will achieve much faster speeds with the boxes that replace the digital ones AND I will get way more channels. I never record anything. What I pay for a month is $50 less, now that Earthlink is gone. Thank you guys for your input. I do appreciate it.
My bad for not picking up on that. Yes, Apple TV requires internet. I bought one when the Spectrum service agent came to my house to do a repair and told me the Apple TV would replace a set top box at my TV and save me money. I think Spectrum is $8 a month per box so you make your money back in about 1 to 1.5 years.

User avatar
Roanoker
Penntower
Penntower
Posts: 2163
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Post by Roanoker »

No, you were fine. You had to pick your way through all my words, and I hardly knew what I was talking about. You did help me get pointed in the right direction. Thanks much!

Sani
Pad site
Pad site
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:22 pm
Location: The Kansas side (sorry)

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Post by Sani »

I can't speak to Roku, but I have an Apple TV, and it works just fine with Google Fiber. What makes you think it wouldn't?

earthling
One Park Place
One Park Place
Posts: 6211
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Post by earthling »

In general, any Internet provider that can do at least 5Mbps can work with any streaming device, even 3Mbps is doable but won't be in HD. Would want at least 25Mbps for each 4K streaming device. That's per concurrent device that's streaming.

BTW, Google Fiber now offers 100M for $30. I think it was offered for 5M users only but think it's available to all now, not sure. But if you are on 5M, once you leave it, looks like you can't go back. Appears that 5M is no longer offered. A bummer because whenever I'd leave town long term, would switch to 5M service.

On a tangent, I have the major streaming devices and all are very good but if you are tied into an ecosystem would probably go with the respective device. That is Amazon Fire if subscribed to Prime and/or have Alexa devices, Apple TV if into Apple ecosystem (though it's pricey for many TVs), Google's new Chromecast with GoogleTV is pretty nice, a bit faster than Amazon Fire and better layout and Google Assistant/search is tops, in its own league.

Roku is a good simple starter device but the OS is getting dated and they are starting to turn into a CableCo with carriage fees for services and may struggle to get/maintain future services (it took a while to get HBO Max and Peacock). Same with Amazon. GoogleTV tends to get pretty much every service immediately. AppleTV used to lag with some services but seems to get some newest ones quicker than Roku and Amazon now. I don't have Tivo Stream but hear it's better than all into terms of picture quality, performance and features for $50 (based on GoogleTV, which used to be called AndroidTV).

User avatar
Roanoker
Penntower
Penntower
Posts: 2163
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Post by Roanoker »

Sani wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 2:39 am
I can't speak to Roku, but I have an Apple TV, and it works just fine with Google Fiber. What makes you think it wouldn't?
Hi, Sani. That's why i said "apparently." I'm not as well equipped technically as you guys. The best I could do was to spend hours on the Internet, trying to figure out what would work best for me. Someone (don't remember where or who) said Roku and Apple TV didn't play nice with Google Fiber. Sorry about that.

User avatar
TrolliKC
Supporter
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:27 am

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Post by TrolliKC »

Roku works great with google fiber as well

Sani
Pad site
Pad site
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:22 pm
Location: The Kansas side (sorry)

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Post by Sani »

Roanoker wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 8:41 am
Hi, Sani. That's why i said "apparently." I'm not as well equipped technically as youguys. The best I could do was to spend hours on the Internet, trying to figure out what would work best for me. Someone (don't remember where or who) said Roku and Apple TV didn't play nice with Google Fiber. Sorry about that.
No worries! The good news for you is that you should have no problem using whichever streaming service you'd like over a Google Fiber connection, so now you have more options to choose from.

Post Reply