Rieger Hotel Grill & Exchange

People say they enjoy Kansas City. Find out why.
moosnsqrl
New York Life
New York Life

Rieger Hotel Grill & Exchange

Post by moosnsqrl »

I've lamented the "loss" of Howard Hanna to the River Club for the last few years, missed Ryan Maybee's Manifesto since it's been closed, AND mourned the loss of a Crossroads restaurant since 1924 Main was shuttered.  I'm psyched that all 3 of those wrongs are being righted in one stroke, with the birth of the Rieger Hotel Grill & Exchange.  They're currently hoping to have the restaurant open by early November and Manifesto will re-open as soon as the bureaucratic wheels churn out a liquor license.

I stopped by there about a month ago to chat with Howard about his plans.  I'm not very good at conceptualizing, so I just took a few pix of the "before" and stayed away for a while.  Somehow between his full time gig at the RC and Ryan Maybee's non-stop cocktail party, a surprising amount of work has been accomplished. [Pictures coming soon]

Gone are the glass block dividers that separated bar from restaurant; an actual wall separates the entryway from the window seating (riddling rack table).  A soffit has appeared over the open kitchen area, which really helps to define it and will eventually beckon diners to sit at the counter, making it a great choice for those dining solo.

The private dining area to the north of the main dining room is also getting a facelift. The retail-ish wine displays are gone and the plan is to have some large, communal dining tables and possibly live music there at times.  I really like the conviviality of dining with strangers in Europe and hope it will catch on here. It's not always my choice but I'd love having the option -- particularly on a spontaneous visit.