Strip mall

Hotel at Sports Complex will get $40M makeover

Post by AF »

GRID
City Hall
City Hall

Re: Hotel at Sports Complex will get $40M makeover

Post by GRID »

I somehow missed this.  Nice to see some re-investment in this hotel.
shinatoo
Ambassador

Post by shinatoo »

I used to be a manager there. $40 mil would be good for the makeover, but not enough for both the water park and the makeover. That thing was in serious neglect.
GRID
City Hall
City Hall

Post by GRID »

Well, I would assume this "waterpark" will be nothing like the GWL in KCK, but will give tourists a reason to stay there.  So if they spent 20 mil on each (waterpark bldg/renovation), I think they should be in good shape.

You could build a new hotel of that size for 40-70 million.

I agree though, the thing looks bad from I-70.  I can only imagine what the inside is like.

I hope they get a new flag that is decent too.  This project could spur more interest in the area.
KCMax
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Blue Ridge Mall / Wal-Mart

Post by KCMax »

trailerkid wrote: I have much criticism as well as other ideas-- a mixed use project would've been ideal for such a high profile location. Now that Lego has surfaced, that would've been another incredible option considering the proximity to TSC and the newly branded Sheraton.
Speaking of the Sheraton, on KC Week in Review, they mentioned something about the old Sheraton near the TSC renovating and adding an indoor water park, and that the developers are now asking for public subsidies to get it done. Anyone know anything about this? I had never heard of it before. How many water parks does this metro need?
SAVE THE PLAZA - FROM ZOMBIES! Find out how at:

http://twitter.com/TheKCRag
kcdcchef
The Quiet Chair
The Quiet Chair

Post by kcdcchef »