Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

KC topics that don't fit anywhere else.

Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Currently have Google Fiber - 'free' 5M service
11
14%
Currently have Google Fiber - 100M or 1 Gigabit service only
8
11%
Currently have Google Fiber - TV + 1 Gigabit service
36
47%
Am in a deployed Google Fiber area but sticking with current or moving to other ISP
1
1%
Am in a planned area, intend to get Google Fiber
10
13%
Am in a planned area, sticking with current ISP
1
1%
None of the above/something else
9
12%
 
Total votes: 76

brewcrew1000
Valencia Place
Valencia Place
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:10 am
Location: Broadway/Gilham according to google maps

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby brewcrew1000 » Thu May 25, 2017 2:44 pm

In my custom google fiber plan mine says i can increase from the 0 plan to the Fiber 1000 + TV for 160 a month

flyingember
Oak Tower
Oak Tower
Posts: 5908
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:54 am

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby flyingember » Thu May 25, 2017 2:58 pm

The cost went up $20 based on your current price/available price. It's jumped several times already but they never charged current customers more.

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3873
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Thu May 25, 2017 3:18 pm

GFBR started with about 150 channels for base TV and now at about 220 channels base. They don't have a large enough TV install base yet to leverage good deals with content providers so apparently they had to raise the price. Google recently started YouTube TV (like Sling and PS Vue) so if that brings a large base of users maybe they'll get better content deals. YouTube TV only available in a few markets for now. Might take a while to build up.

Might take a look at Sling, PS Vue, DirecTV Now if wanting smaller bundled TV. Need to use with streaming device like Chromecast, Roku, FireTV, etc.

shaffe
Penntower
Penntower
Posts: 2342
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby shaffe » Thu May 25, 2017 3:36 pm

hartliss wrote:Got this email today, ouch:


We want to let you know that the price of your Fiber 1000 + TV plan will be increasing from $130/month to $150/month starting with your July bill. (If you also subscribe to optional packages, the prices of those add-ons will remain the same.)


I wonder if that means I can ask for them to give me new equipment since I'm still on the original version hardware?

User avatar
smh
Broadway Square
Broadway Square
Posts: 2669
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Central Loop

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby smh » Thu May 25, 2017 3:38 pm

shaffe wrote:
hartliss wrote:Got this email today, ouch:


We want to let you know that the price of your Fiber 1000 + TV plan will be increasing from $130/month to $150/month starting with your July bill. (If you also subscribe to optional packages, the prices of those add-ons will remain the same.)


I wonder if that means I can ask for them to give me new equipment since I'm still on the original version hardware?


I have heard that if you just take your EQ in they'll exchange you for the new stuff no questions asked.

shaffe
Penntower
Penntower
Posts: 2342
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby shaffe » Thu May 25, 2017 3:41 pm

smh wrote:I have heard that if you just take your EQ in they'll exchange you for the new stuff no questions asked.


I might have to give that a try. It's been a long time since I asked but the last time I did they told me they don't swap equipment.

User avatar
Eon Blue
Colonnade
Colonnade
Posts: 897
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:28 pm
Location: Downtown KCMO

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby Eon Blue » Fri May 26, 2017 12:26 pm

We recently had our equipment upgraded at no charge after our live TV function died. One new TV box (one old one still OK), new network/storage box, and new remotes.

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3873
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Sat Jun 10, 2017 11:17 am

So with GFTV and Spectrum rates going up and trend of 'cord cutting' in general with PayTV, we've also dumped GFTV and now streaming only. Currently doing 1 month DirecTV Now trial but don't plan to keep it. We end up watching free Pluto TV more than anything. Check it out. Pluto has OnDemand free (ad-based) movies and some interesting live channels (good nature/space shows on Xive), wide array of 'news' channels, a weather channel, an obscure 70's Hong Kong action flick channel (bizarre), though also plenty of junk depending on tastes. Check it out. The mobile app version doesn't do OnDemand yet but the Roku and Fire versions do. One annoying aspect, repetitive commercials.

As many are getting tired of rising rates for traditional PayTV with ads, would think within 5+ years there will be a trend towards two models - streaming mini bundle PayTV with no ads and free ad-based TV. Pluto is on a roll with the latter model.

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3873
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:21 pm

If you cut PayTV and miss History/Science channels, check out Curiosity Stream...
https://curiositystream.com/

The content is mostly impressive, not as sensationalized or irrelevant as the cable channels have become (though a small portion is). Over 1500 OnDemand titles for only $3/SD, $6/HD and 4K also available, no ads. Has mobile apps and works on the major streaming devices.

Can get a free month trial with promo code: twit

Worth checking out if into nature/science/space/history shows. We plan to rotate around services every month or two... Netflix, HBO and will add this to rotation. Even if you have PayTV, might check out the trial.

brewcrew1000
Valencia Place
Valencia Place
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:10 am
Location: Broadway/Gilham according to google maps

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby brewcrew1000 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 7:47 am

Might have to check that out
I've been cord free for 7 years now.
We have the Free GF for 7 years (Was getting internet free before this also)

Our services are Netflix, HBO, YouTube Red, MLB.TV (Free thru T-Mobile) and I have a couple friends passwords for all the other channels since they have cable in exchange for my HBO, MLB and Netflix info

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3873
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Fri Jun 23, 2017 9:03 am

Yeah, rotating services is a cheap way to go and Google's free 5M service works fine with pretty much every video service (one stream at a time). Password sharing obviously too if you don't care if others see your viewing history/saved videos, and some services may only allow one stream a time on account.

Good site for cord cutters (from traditional PayTV)...
http://cordcuttersnews.com/

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3873
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:25 pm

Google Fiber is not offering TV service in new markets it's entering - Louisville and San Antonio. They are hinting to use OTT streaming services instead like YouTubeTV, Sling, Hulu etc.

GF says they'll continue to offer TV in existing markets but would bet they get rid of it next year (that is if they don't sell entire service). Would think as YouTubeTV matures they'll get rid of GF TV in existing markets and give away Chromecasts or maybe sell/rent AndroidTV boxes (that allow for streaming most anything).

bobbyhawks
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3720
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:19 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby bobbyhawks » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:10 pm

earthling wrote:Google Fiber is not offering TV service in new markets it's entering - Louisville and San Antonio. They are hinting to use OTT streaming services instead like YouTubeTV, Sling, Hulu etc.

GF says they'll continue to offer TV in existing markets but would bet they get rid of it next year (that is if they don't sell entire service). Would think as YouTubeTV matures they'll get rid of GF TV in existing markets and give away Chromecasts or maybe sell/rent AndroidTV boxes (that allow for streaming most anything).

I've been testing YouTube TV, and they need to figure a few things out before this is a legit substitute for Google Fiber TV. The difference in picture quality between a highly compressed stream that doesn't deliver 5.1 sound vs. what Google Fiber TV has (an uncompressed 1080p stream) is pretty significant. Also, there is no way people will ditch a remote control/app experience for a phone controlled TV. They need to greatly enhance their offerings on devices like Android TV, Shield TV, and Apple TV before app-oriented TV feels at all convenient.

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3873
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:24 pm

Yeah we've tried the YouTube TV trial and concluded it's 'still in development'. Like the tablet interface a lot (great design) but overall would rather use a remote. YTTV will fail if they don't offer on Roku/Fire/etc. And of course need to offer various channel bundles. DirectTV Now has most channel options, PS Vue is not bad, didn't care for Sling interface. We mostly just watch Pluto (free), Roku channels and CuriosityStream (starts at $3/month), which is much better than sensationalized History/Science/Discover channels.

BTW, I know several people on GFBR's free 5M service, which is still available. It appears to actually allow 100M for most video services. I tested the throughput and it shows up to 100M buffering and allowing streams above 5M. All other services restricted to 5M. Might try 'stepping down' to 5M if you mostly stream, web browse and don't really need high speed for downloads. Can always bump back up to higher speed if not good enough. It's easy to switch speed under your account on the website.


Return to “General Kansas City”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests