KC Metro Transportation Ideas

Transportation topics in KC
miz.jordan17
Strip mall
Strip mall

KC Metro Transportation Ideas

Post by miz.jordan17 »

I'm currently living in Chicago, and I have to admit the public transit here has me spoiled now. I'm so excited for Kansas City, though. I made a map that kind of outlines a vision for KCI to Streetcar transit, but it's obviously a dream. I'd love to hear everyone's ideas and opinions, with the understanding that it's just an idea and I'm not an expert. It was just for fun, but sometimes when a group of dedicated, passionate people get together, big ideas are formed and there's action.

Here's the link!
https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer?mi ... 55385&z=11

EDIT: I'm adding lines for the hell of it. Any suggestions, let me know!
flyingember
Mark Twain Tower
Mark Twain Tower

Re: KC Metro Transportation Ideas

Post by flyingember »

Why would you get to the stadiums at grade, crossing a freight line? Keep on 31st and connect direct to the Rock Island rail corridor, with a new bridge over the Blue River.

Cutting down to Meyer from 63rd isn't bad, can see value there but would take it to a stop between starlight and the zoo.
Not sure I would get there via 55th, taking Volker to Rockhurst seems like a better route. Going on Troost is a must do to connect midtown jobs to the Troost cooridor.

I picture a line down Indep Ave towards the blue river industrial but have to rebuild the low railroad bridge or cut south to a new E-W road to avoid it.  Lots of economic opportunity along the river

The northland route is really weird.

I-29 is going to be stupid expensive to develop along, there's next to no extra space along it. At the very least, go via Riverside to cut the gap to NW 56th and can put a stop in that town. But even going up 29 avoids a huge opportunity.