Alternate way to fund an urban core transit system

Transportation topics in KC
ignatius
Oak Tower
Oak Tower

Post by ignatius »

I'm already not counting on the passing of a tax increase for the next election....

- This is a sprawled out town that is commited to cars.
- Outside the urban core, KCMO is not pedestrian friendly, hence not transit conscious
- This is not a good time to ask for a tax increase from those who don't care about the urban core
- Clay Chastain is back and f'ing everything up by putting his nonsense on the ballot
- Public transit in the suburban parts of sprawled KCMO is simply too expensive per rider.

I'm going to write the ATA and City and propose looking into an urban core tax that funds an urban core specific system. We need to stop asking suburbanites in KCMO to help pay for good public transit in the urban core. The urban core needs to step up and take care of itself.

This is what I propose. Pardon the oversimplification as I have no experience in civic infrastructure or how to lobby for it so this is just conceptual. I'm sure it's a more difficult process. Nevertheless, something like this is what I'd like to pursue...

- Determine the tax base in the zip codes from River Market to the Plaza, State Line to Troost.

- Determine the 5-year cost to maintain a bus system with 5 lines that runs every 10 minutes (rush hour, 15 minutes otherwise) from the Plaza to River Market... one down Troost, Gilham, Main, Broadway and SW Trafficway.

- Determine the 5-year property tax increase needed from businesses and/or sales taxes within those zipcodes to cover the cost.