Kansas City's Best Developers

Have a development question you want answered? Ask it here and you'll get your answer
homewardbound
Parking Garage
Parking Garage

Kansas City's Best Developers

Post by homewardbound »

I'm a native Midwesterner living in the Southeast, but hoping to return sometime in the future... to KC most likely.  I work as a Development Manager for a small firm focusing on urban infill and mixed-use projects.  Who are KC's best developers measured by the following criteria:

1. Infills or redevelops existing urban sites
2. Site plan oriented towards pedestrians
3. Enhances environments with a mix of uses

I know this type of developer tends to be "boutique" by nature so would appreciate some grassroots advice!

Thanks,
HB
NDTeve
Oak Tower
Oak Tower

Re: Kansas City's Best Developers

Post by NDTeve »

Best:
1) RED Development
2) RH Johnson

Worst:
1) DST
"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first."
- Mark Twain
DaveKCMO
Ambassador

Post by DaveKCMO »

the crossroads developers are pretty good at infill and creating a sense of place (in this order):

1. nicholson (barkley/MAC/souperman, 1800 baltimore)
2. accardo (1819 baltimore, the broadway, various other commercial spaces)
3. leavitt (freighthouse area, 39th and main)
voltopt
Broadway Square
Broadway Square

Post by voltopt »

NDTeve wrote: Best:
1) RED Development
2) RH Johnson

Worst:
1) DST
I doubt any of these developers would fit into your definition of "boutique."