Things you do in your free time.

New to downtown life? Have questions? Urban living expert, come share your thoughts.
drgath
Pad site
Pad site

Things you do in your free time.

Post by drgath »

I just moved to 9th & Walnut last week, and I work a ton of hours, so the weekends for me is really my only time to kick back, relax, and enjoy my new neighborhood.  M-F, 9-5, I'm a computer programmer in Overland Park, so the more time I spend outside of my house off the internet, downtown, the better.  Things I've done so far.... jogs down to the river market for food & exploration, bike rides to Quality Hill, drives through the crossroads, burgers at Town Topic, and I've been to the library a few times.  So... what things might I be missing out on that the longer tenured downtown residents can offer advice on to the new guy in town?  Not only looking for anything crazy or real interesting, just what do you guys do in your free time down here.  Should I go take a bike ride to X park, go grab a bite to eat at X restaurant, etc...  I dunno, small things too.

Expanding on the bike rides topic, any nearby trails or good off-road paths to check out?  If I wanted to get up to Berkley Park, how would I go about doing that on a bike?  Only way I saw was on the bridge next to the Cold Storage building and I think I might get run over.

Thanks  :D
KCPowercat
Ambassador

Re: Things you do in your free time.

Post by KCPowercat »

eat and booze it up.  Self made urban walking tours.
http://downtownkcmo.blogspot.com

Tweeting live from Big 12 tournament @downtownkc
KC_Fan
Strip mall
Strip mall

Post by KC_Fan »

Bike over to Crown Center for a matinee show and grab a drink at the Cashew on your way back.
sethyg
Western Auto Lofts
Western Auto Lofts

Post by sethyg »