Bring back "The Junction"

tommy
Parking Garage
Parking Garage

Post by tommy »

My name is Tommy, I am new to posting messages, but have been a huge fan of this sight and check it very often. I am a grad student in Urban Planning and I love Kansas City. I would love to work for the city, especially in reviving downtown.

I have a lot of ideas about what could happen down there, but my most radical one- is bringing back "the Junction". The Junction was a very popular spot in KC's downtown history.

This is where Delaware, Main, and 9th Street all met at one intersection. If you go back and look at old maps of KC, you will see it. You will also see how downtown KC had a very nice grid street pattern, but that changed when the interstates came in and runied it and made the CBD an island, cut of from the River Market, Crossroads, etc.

I sugget they bring this back and make it an entertainmet, retail district with a possible stadium or arena near this area- not sure where just yet. The could line Delaware with mixed use retail, resturants, and right at the juction put an AMC theatre with a nice big neon sign that could be seen as you travel north on Main.

This might be hard to follow with out looking at old maps of downtown KC. If you want to see them, go to http://images.kclibrary.org/maps/ and click on Kansas City. Then a list of maps will come up and click on the first or third option and zoom in on the maps- it is cool to look at.

This is a pretty far fetched idea, but it is fun to dream, let me know what you think.
trailerkid
City Center Square
City Center Square

Post by trailerkid »

Tommy... I like your ideas. You should try to get a job with city and start making your dreams a reality.

What about tunneling the freeways in and arround downtown? That way we would keep the good access, yet make things look better.

KC is spread out enough without downtown freeways further separating thing.
KCPowercat
Ambassador

Post by KCPowercat »