I just rebooted the server for patching

Announcements about the forum as well as comments, questions, ideas for the forum or the website in general.
Post Reply
User avatar
bahua
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10857
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 7:39 pm
Location: Out of Town
Contact:

I just rebooted the server for patching

Post by bahua » Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:32 pm

Did anyone even notice?

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 4464
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: I just rebooted the server for patching

Post by earthling » Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:51 pm

Saw it down for a minute, refreshed and then back to normal.

User avatar
taxi
Valencia Place
Valencia Place
Posts: 1558
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:32 am
Location: North End
Contact:

Re: I just rebooted the server for patching

Post by taxi » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:16 pm

I wasn't on the computer, but I got a funny feeling, like there was a ghost nearby. And my dog started howling. Spooky.

User avatar
grovester
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3682
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 7:30 pm
Location: KC Metro

Re: I just rebooted the server for patching

Post by grovester » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:07 pm

taxi wrote:I wasn't on the computer, but I got a funny feeling, like there was a ghost nearby. And my dog started howling. Spooky.
dude, your avatar isn't loading!

User avatar
Roanoker
Penntower
Penntower
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Re: I just rebooted the server for patching

Post by Roanoker » Fri Feb 14, 2014 9:26 am

I didn't notice any disruption. This site operates faster than anything on my computer. Thanks again for all your excellent work.

User avatar
bahua
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10857
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 7:39 pm
Location: Out of Town
Contact:

Re: I just rebooted the server for patching

Post by bahua » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:35 am

Yeah, not sure what's happening with the avatars. I think some relic of the migration has removed a bunch of them. I had to update mine in my profile too. Interestingly though, some of the avatars that are hosted on kcrag dot com still work.

User avatar
Roanoker
Penntower
Penntower
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Re: I just rebooted the server for patching

Post by Roanoker » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:30 pm

I edited some posts with new picture links tonight. At one point, KCRag seemed to freeze up. It finally began to work, and I intended to update the links to three pictures in a 2007 post, but I was told I was not permitted to edit or do anything else in that area. I tried to send you a message, Bahua, but I could not get the message section to work. Perhaps I am doing something wrong. I think I'll give up for tonight.

Thanks again for all your work. You don't need any piddly problems now.

User avatar
bahua
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10857
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 7:39 pm
Location: Out of Town
Contact:

Re: I just rebooted the server for patching

Post by bahua » Fri Feb 21, 2014 12:27 pm

Yeah, because of the spamming that comes from the admins having to activate each user, I changed my email address to a nonsense address, so the thousands of activation requests go into the ether, instead of my inbox. That means that attempts to message me through the board will fail. I can be contacted at kcrag.admin@gmail.com.

What post were you trying to edit? There might be some kind of phpbb setting that keeps users from editing posts of a certain age. Post the URL here and I'll check it out.

User avatar
Roanoker
Penntower
Penntower
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Re: I just rebooted the server for patching

Post by Roanoker » Fri Feb 21, 2014 1:23 pm

Hi, Bahua.

I sent you an email message about this.

User avatar
bahua
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10857
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 7:39 pm
Location: Out of Town
Contact:

Re: I just rebooted the server for patching

Post by bahua » Thu May 08, 2014 4:00 pm

I just did it again. It took 28 seconds. I love this host.

Post Reply