Is it me, or is the KC job market CRAP?

KC topics that don't fit anywhere else.
Tosspot
Mark Twain Tower
Mark Twain Tower

Post by Tosspot »

I just apply and apply, send resume after resume, and never hear so much as a peep from anyone.

I hear reports of a tepid job market in KC compared to other American cities; is there any validity to this? I would think that the development boom occurring now would be indicative of the overall economy and of job availability, but perhaps not.

One must wonder if that KCK address at the top of my resume scares off hiring managers.

I graduated from CMSU with a high GPA, several semesters on the Dean's Honor Roll at both CMSU and Penn Valley, and am a member of multiple scholastic honor societies. But the relative lack of post-graduate work experience is a great hinderance when competing with all of the Sprint layoffs. Not to mention the fact that no one will hire me for jobs that don't require degrees, seeing as how a degree makes one over-qualified in the eyes of hiring managers.

Gone many times have I to various job fairs, and it seems that mostly, companies are looking to the college educated to staff their customer service call centers as abused and eternally maligned phone drones. And they won't even hire me for that because the personality tests all say I'm no good at dealing with pissy customers.

Anyway, there are two job fairs tomorrow I plan on attending. Just printed off 20 copies of my resume that will all probably end up in a corporate wastebasket, but still one must try.

If KC wants to attract young professionals from other areas, it has a lot of work to do in the realm of career availability. But me, I'd never leave KC.

photoblog. 

until further notice i will routinely point out spelling errors committed by any here whom i frequently do battle wit
ignatius
Oak Tower
Oak Tower

Post by ignatius »