Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

KC topics that don't fit anywhere else.

Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Currently have Google Fiber - 'free' 5M service
11
14%
Currently have Google Fiber - 100M or 1 Gigabit service only
9
12%
Currently have Google Fiber - TV + 1 Gigabit service
35
46%
Am in a deployed Google Fiber area but sticking with current or moving to other ISP
1
1%
Am in a planned area, intend to get Google Fiber
10
13%
Am in a planned area, sticking with current ISP
1
1%
None of the above/something else
9
12%
 
Total votes: 76

mean
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10618
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:00 am
Location: Historic Northeast

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby mean » Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:58 pm

Makes me wonder if perhaps this is somehow related to providing WiFi for Google Fi customers so they are less likely to use the spectrum Google leased from AT&T and T-Mobile when "roaming"? No idea, but it seems to make sense.

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3977
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:37 pm

Sprint struggles with building/tree penetration with 2.5Ghz (800Mhz is best, 1900 is just OK) so 3.5Ghz will be even less effective. Is possible they could use 3.5Ghz for phones 'where signal available' and rely less on other carriers for data in certain areas - but wouldn't be very cost effective to deploy city wide. Dense hotspots and sports/arts/convention venues would make sense for this but the sites would have to be fairly close given 3.5Ghz.

A potentially more effective use might be fixed wireless home broadband where fiber is difficult to deploy. Line of sight (LOS) deployment would give more distance in some cases - like rooftop or outdoor antenna on home that has LOS to a 3.5Ghz tower. Maybe part of Google Fiber service but an additional plan option that costs less than fiber to home.

Will be interesting to see what comes of this. Could be a combo of both.

BTW, Google Fi uses Sprint and Tmobile networks, not ATT. Google Fi apparently pays Sprint/Tmobile $2/GB.

cityscape
New York Life
New York Life
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Overland Park

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby cityscape » Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:05 am

I live in South OP and have been waiting to sign up for the last year. What is weird is Google Fiber is now being installed in our neighborhood (confirmed after talking to the construction crew) but we still cannot sign up online with Google. Is Google testing a new methodology for rolling out Google Fiber? Previously you had to have so many sign ups in your area (fiberhood) before they would begin infrastructure work......

flyingember
One Park Place
One Park Place
Posts: 6016
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:54 am

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby flyingember » Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:33 am

cityscape wrote:I live in South OP and have been waiting to sign up for the last year. What is weird is Google Fiber is now being installed in our neighborhood (confirmed after talking to the construction crew) but we still cannot sign up online with Google. Is Google testing a new methodology for rolling out Google Fiber? Previously you had to have so many sign ups in your area (fiberhood) before they would begin infrastructure work......


They started work in my neighborhood in late 2013.
Signups were in early 2014 with a deadline of June 2014.
It's now February 2016. I still don't have service.

KCLofts
Valencia Place
Valencia Place
Posts: 1570
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2002 7:57 am
Location: River Market
Contact:

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby KCLofts » Fri Feb 19, 2016 2:40 pm

cityscape wrote:I live in South OP and have been waiting to sign up for the last year. What is weird is Google Fiber is now being installed in our neighborhood (confirmed after talking to the construction crew) but we still cannot sign up online with Google. Is Google testing a new methodology for rolling out Google Fiber? Previously you had to have so many sign ups in your area (fiberhood) before they would begin infrastructure work......


Same here in PV.

mean
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10618
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:00 am
Location: Historic Northeast

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby mean » Fri Feb 19, 2016 3:26 pm

earthling wrote:BTW, Google Fi uses Sprint and Tmobile networks, not ATT. Google Fi apparently pays Sprint/Tmobile $2/GB.


My bad. You'd think I'd have that straight, being a Fi customer and all.

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3977
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:32 am

GF TV had an outage for a couple hours a couple weekends ago and giving free Showtime (all channels) for a month starting today, March 1. Looks like all content is available via On Demand so need to to DVR anything. All seasons of their shows are available via On Demand.

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3977
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Wed Mar 02, 2016 7:34 pm

Updated comparisons of Google Fiber to other ISPs...

https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r30195 ... speed-ISPs

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3977
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Tue Mar 22, 2016 4:04 pm

North KC has 'free' Gigabit that is now operated by Datashack. Fiber was muni built about 10 years ago with casino revenue and then City turned it over to 3rd party ISP to operate about a couple years ago, giving 'free' Gigabit to all NKC residents with $300 activation fee. In exchange, Datashack gets to use the network and charge market rate for businesses and I think city pays them about $100K/yr to maintain fiber.

Any NKC'rs here who have it? Am curious how it performs.

http://linkcity.org/residential/

davidc
Pad site
Pad site
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:56 pm
Location: Overland Park
Contact:

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby davidc » Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:49 pm

Two bits of news on the Google Fiber front.

They are now offering phone service for $10/month - apparently for all areas currently served.

They have also split up the remaining portions of Johnson County into: East John County (signups in April 2016); North Overland Park; Central Overland Park; West Overland Park; and South Overland Park. (all but East are listed as "coming soon")

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3977
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:10 am

Comparison Guide...

Image
Last edited by earthling on Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

KCLofts
Valencia Place
Valencia Place
Posts: 1570
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2002 7:57 am
Location: River Market
Contact:

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby KCLofts » Thu Apr 07, 2016 3:12 pm

Signups for East JoCo just opened today.

I'm still on the fence about GFTV. It doesn't seem to have a lot of fans.

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3977
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Thu Apr 07, 2016 4:21 pm

GFTV not quite mature yet. It's fine but they changed some things around that annoyed many (removing network storage to view pics/videos from TV) and latest update has lag with the remote. Mobile viewing doesn't work away from home yet. And then many want AMC, which they don't have yet. It's not annoying enough for me to leave but GFTV is not as mature as others yet.

The picture quality is top notch though, the bitrate is higher than all others. And the mobile app is pretty good.

BTW, Google Fiber now offers 100/100M internet for $50/month in KC. You can easily change plan in account settings.

mean
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10618
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:00 am
Location: Historic Northeast

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby mean » Thu Apr 07, 2016 6:48 pm

I'm not going to say that I love GFTV, but compared to Time Warner and Comcast I'll take it every time.

User avatar
DaveKCMO
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 15659
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Crossroads
Contact:

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby DaveKCMO » Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:31 am


earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3977
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:25 am

Yeah, the 'free' 5M service will no longer be available to order after May 19. For those who already have it, I think you get 7 years 'free' 5M from your install date. They have replaced 5M with free Gigabit for certain public housing only. And $50 100M is now available.

From the Google Fiber forums...

On May 19, we’ll also be introducing a new plan for the most digitally divided neighborhoods we serve on both sides of the state line. On the same date, we will no longer offer the Basic Internet plan to new subscribers. If you think the Basic plan may be the right for you, there’s still time. You can sign up until May 19.

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3977
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Mon Apr 11, 2016 1:21 pm

Google Fiber to offer $15/month 25/25M service, no caps, no contract, no install fee, but only to low income areas.

https://support.google.com/fiber/answer/6389063?hl=en

http://www.kansascity.com/news/business ... 41667.html

KCtonic
New York Life
New York Life
Posts: 397
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:24 am
Location: River Market

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby KCtonic » Mon Apr 11, 2016 1:57 pm

Does anyone know what this is about?

http://cityclerk.kcmo.org/LiveWeb/Docum ... Spl9e0FaFY

I'm assuming an expansion of the public Google WiFi that was tested a while back?
http://www.bizjournals.com/kansascity/n ... in-kc.html

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3977
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:05 pm

It could be for using wireless as an alternative to last mile Gigabit hookups for hard to reach places, which Google is said to be experimenting with in KC...

http://www.businessinsider.com/google-e ... ity-2016-2

http://www.telecompetitor.com/google-fi ... e-in-play/

earthling
Bryant Building
Bryant Building
Posts: 3977
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Do you have or plan to get Google Fiber?

Postby earthling » Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:56 am

KCtonic wrote:Does anyone know what this is about?

http://cityclerk.kcmo.org/LiveWeb/Docum ... Spl9e0FaFY

I'm assuming an expansion of the public Google WiFi that was tested a while back?
http://www.bizjournals.com/kansascity/n ... in-kc.html


More here from KC Star today...
http://www.kansascity.com/news/business ... 82332.html

Google officials planned a presentation for Thursday morning in front of a Kansas City Council committee. The company is asking for temporary, and discounted, permission to put antennas on city light poles and other structures downtown, on the Plaza, in Waldo, at 18th and Vine, at Zona Rosa, in Brookside, Westport and near Barry Road and Interstate 29.


KC's desire to become a 'living lab' for smart cities and public technology seems be coming to fruition on many fronts.


Return to “General Kansas City”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests